You Are Here

I revisited making my own clay, this time using cornstarch, baking soda, and water. I am very pleased with how it turned out, much better than the salt dough. Here’s a link for full instructions: White clay.

I used the same stamps I used with the salt dough because well, they’re the only ones I have. But I got them for a reason. Here are some pictures of my progress:

   
    
    
 
Instead of baking, I just let them dry overnight. They turned out a beautiful smooth white.

   
 
Easily my favorite though:

  
You are here.

If you know me, you know I love to travel. You also know that I haven’t been in one place for more than a few years at a time. I’ve never minded too much, other than the stress of figuring out the next step. But then again, it’s been God who’s figured out the next step. I just had to take the step. Each time I never knew where that step would take me and as a fearful person I worried over it. 

I’m right there again.

I don’t know what the next step is. Oh I have dreams and desires, but I doubt them often, not wanting to screw it up. But God hasn’t shown me the next step for a specific reason unknown to me, and I have to be ok with that. 

So that leaves me here. Here in Georgia. Here in the unknown. Here in the tension between fear and faith. 

So what do I do with that?

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. – Philippians 4:11

I must be here and I must be content. If I keep fretting the future or wishing for more–more clarity, more opportunity–I miss what God is teaching me here. Right here. Not over there.

I am here.

Leave a Reply

