A tree planted by the water

Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked,                                                                                                        nor stands in the way of sinners,                                                                                                                                                          nor sits in the seat of scoffers;

But his delight is in the law of the Lord,                                                                                                                                                and on His law he meditates day and night.

He is like a tree planted by the streams of water                                                                                                                                  that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither.

In all that he does, he prospers.

~ Ps 1:1-3 ~


Today’s project brought me back to meditating on the tree. After a very trying few months, a dear friend of mine created a lovely drawing as a reminder of truth we had both had to learn (and still learning). I had been meaning to find a frame for it, and now I finally have a little home for it so it can continue to be put before my eyes and remind me where my roots must lie.

I found a wooden frame on clearance at Hobby Lobby because of some flaws in it, but I knew it would be perfect. I ended up taking it apart which then allowed me two frames, one the perfect size for the drawing.

image1 (3)

After painting the frames yesterday, I allowed them to dry overnight (though, they took no time to dry really). Then today I roughed them up a bit with sand paper.

image2 (3)

For the drawing, I used the light blue frame. I needed backing for the drawing, so I rummaged around our garage for some cardboard and cut it size.

image3 (3)

Then viola! Drawing and frame unite!

image4 (3)

It needed a little something else, so I used a couple of branches from my front yard. I love the effect.

image9 (1)


Since I had another frame to work with, I wanted it to go along with the same theme of the tree. My original idea was the make a jewelry holder, but I went a different route by framing branches instead.

image6 (2)

With some hot glue, trial and error, and a little creativity, the finished project turned out very nicely.

image10 (1)


These tangible reminders allow me to set truth before my eyes and remember no matter how lost, fearful, insecure, or doubtful I am, when rooted in truth and my God, I prosper. Not circumstantially, but internally.

My delight in the Word. My delight is in God.

Leave a Reply

