Stain-glassed vases

Project #2!

Hello again!

Today’s project is brought to you by Fancy That Design House (via Pinterest, of course!).

The previously decided upon project was to stain some glass bottles to create some vases for dried flowers I had (courtesy of my dear friend Amy’s wedding). This project was pretty easy and they turned out quite lovely! Here’s how it went:

First, I assembled the needed materials again (this will become a theme):

image1 (1)We have the following:

  • Mod Podge
  • Food coloring
  • A bit of water
  • Glass jars
  • A small bowl
  • Something to stir with (I suggest something disposable and all I had was plastic forks – use whatever you want)
  • Newspaper
  • Wax paper
  • Cookie sheet

Next, decide what color you’d like your vases to be:

image2 (1)I went with green, mainly because I had no red food coloring and when I used all the colors I had, this is what turned out. Feel free to be more creative than I was 🙂 Mix the food coloring in with the mod podge along with a little bit of water. Note: the watery it is, the lighter the color will be in the end. This is something I’d like to tweak in the future.

Then pour into the jar, “swish” it around, and prepare the get your hands dirty. My fingers are still slightly green. Also, be prepared to have the next jar ready to pour in the excess or your newspaper will be a pretty shade of whatever color you use.

image3 (1)

After you’ve colored all the jars you want colored, just leave them to hang out upside down on the newspaper for at least an hour. Clearly I was incredibly neat with the paint.

image4 (1)

Then turn up the heat!! Seriously. I put them in the oven at 225 degrees for 45 minutes. This is where the wax paper and cookie sheet come in handy. Make sure they are right side up this time. Your vases will feel better about this.

They will go from this:

image7      to this:      image8

And, viola! Pretty simple! Don’t forget to let them cool. I don’t think hot vases are in right now.

Now my post-bridesmaid flowers have a new home!

image11

image10


Tomorrow’s project I actually started today while I was working on these vases, but not quite finished. Here’s a little preview:

image5

Until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

